Archive and Delete Documents
On this page, you will learn how to archive, unarchive, and delete content in Prismic.
In Prismic, there are two methods for demoting content: archiving and deleting.
Archiving (also called "unpublishing") will remove a document from your API and move it to the "archive" section of the document list. In unpublished documents, the menu bar is grey.
Deleting will completely remove the document from your repository. Deleting is irreversible and permanent.
Archive a document
To archive a document, click the archive button in the top-right corner of the editor. You will be prompted to confirm that you want to archive the document. Once you confirm by clicking Archive, the document will be sent to the archive tab and removed from the Prismic API.
If you want to schedule a document to be archived, click Unpublish. You will be presented with a drop-down menu with three options:
- Unpublish now
- Unpublish it at a specific date and time
- Unpublish it during a release
If you click "Unpublish it at a specific date and time," you will be prompted to enter the date and time to archive the document.
If you click "Unpublish it during a release," you will be prompted to add the document to the release, which you can publish at any time in the future. (Learn more about releases.)
Unarchive a document
To unarchive a document, first go to the archive tab, then click on the document you wish to unarchive.
When you click on the document, you will have the option to publish it again.
Move a document from "Archived" to "Work"
It is possible to move a document to the "Work" tab as a draft without publishing it.
To do so, first find the document in the archive. Open the document's history pane, click the most recent version, and click Restore.
The document will be restored as a draft in the "Work" tab.
Delete a document
Deleting a document is permanent and irreversible.
You can only delete a document that is already archived.
To delete a document, open the archived version and click the trash can icon in the editor's top-right corner.
The document will be removed from your repo.
Was this article helpful?
Can't find what you're looking for? Get in touch with us on our Community Forum.