What Is a Repo?

On this page, you'll learn what a Prismic repo is and how to create one.


In Prismic, your repo stores all of the content for a project. It contains all of the documents, media, environments, translations, and settings for your project.

Prismic is priced by repo, starting at a fully functional free tier, with higher tiers for additional users and features. For more information, see our pricing page.

Accessing a repo

You can view all of your repositories and create new ones in your dashboard:

Dashboard

Each repo has its own URL, with this format:

Copy
your-repo-name.prismic.io

To open your repo, navigate to this URL. If you're not logged in, you will be prompted to do so.

Your Prismic repo is only accessible to Prismic users who have been invited to the repo. Learn more about user roles.

Repo privacy

Your repo is only accessible to users who have been given access. However, your repo has an API endpoint that exposes your repo's content as JSON data. This API can be set to public or private.

What a repo does

In your repo, you can:

  • Add and remove users
  • Change your subscription plan
  • Create Custom Types, which are models for your content
  • Add and edit documents
  • Add and edit media
  • Plan content releases
  • Add webhooks
  • Manage settings for the repo

On the left-hand side of your repo, you will see five or six buttons, depending on your permissions:

  • The first button, the Prismic logo, will tag you to your dashboard.
  • The second button, the text, will take you to the document screen, where you can browse, create, and edit content.
  • The third button, the layout, will take you to your Custom Types, where you can model content. This button is only visible to administrators.
  • The fourth button, the image, will take you to your media library.
  • The fifth button, the question mark, will take you to the Prismic documentation.
  • The sixth button, the cog, will take you to your repo settings.

Deleting a repo

Deleting a repo is irreversible. Once a repo is deleted, there is no way to get it back.

In the settings for your repo, navigate to Danger Zone in the menu.

Click Delete the repository.

You will be prompted to type in the name of the repo and your password. Then, click Delete this repository.

Your repository is now deleted.


Was this article helpful?
Not really
Yes, Thanks

Can't find what you're looking for? Get in touch with us on our Community Forum.