What Is a Repository?
On this page, you'll learn what a Prismic repository is and how to create one.
In Prismic, your repository stores all of the content for a project. It contains your project's documents, media, environments, translations, and settings. Prismic hosts this content in the cloud for you, and you can edit it via the Prismic platform.
Prismic is priced by repository, starting at a fully functional free tier, with higher tiers for additional users and features. For more information, see our pricing page.
Accessing a repository
You can view all of your repositories and create new ones in your dashboard:
Each repository has its own URL, with this format:
To open your repo, navigate to this URL. If you're not logged in, you will be prompted to do so.
Your Prismic repository is only accessible to Prismic users who have been invited to the repo. Learn more about user roles.
Your repository is only accessible to users who have been given access. However, your repository has an API endpoint that exposes your repo's content as JSON data. This API can be set to public or private.
What a repository does
In your repo, you can:
- Add and remove users
- Change your subscription plan
- Add and edit documents
- Add and edit media
- Plan content releases
- Add webhooks
- Manage settings for the repo
On the left-hand side of your repo, you will see five or six buttons, depending on your permissions:
- The first button with the Prismic logo will tag you to your dashboard.
- The second button will take you to the document screen, where you can browse, create, and edit content.
- The third button will take you to your Custom Types tab in the Legacy Builder
- The fourth button, the image, will take you to your Media Library.
- The fifth button, the question mark, will take you to the Prismic documentation.
- The sixth button, the cog, will take you to your repository settings.
Please note that the Custom Types tab is only visible on repositories without Slice Machine. Learn more about how to create Custom Types with Slice Machine.
Deleting a repo
Deleting a repository is irreversible. Once a repository is deleted, there is no way to get it back.
In the settings for your repo, navigate to Danger Zone in the menu.
Click Delete the repository.
You will be prompted to type in the name of the repository and your password. Then, click Delete this repository.
Your repository is now deleted.
Was this article helpful?
Can't find what you're looking for? Spot an error in the documentation? Get in touch with us on our Community Forum or using the feedback form above.